I can count my blessings on as many stars in the sky.  This Thanksgiving was my first to host, and boy was I nervous!  Thanks to lots of pre-planning, I managed to pull dinner together without a hitch.  Well, almost… We did awake to the smoke alarm, but it was no biggie after a little scrub-a-dub of the oven. 😀

 

We had this beautiful turkey, which was brined using the oh-so-reliable Alton Brown recipe, and it turned out exceptionally delicious.  Not too shabby for my first.

Image

I made an interesting take on sweet potato casserole, which was probably my favorite.  The sweet potatoes were roasted til fork tender, cut in half, arranged in an oven safe skillet, topped with holiday spices (proprietary! ha!) and large marshmallows.  I was going use small marshmallows, but we ate them before the big day. Oopsie!  It turned out for the best, I think. 🙂

Image

Braided challah was a perfect addition to the Thanksgiving meal, although I did forgo the sesame seeds (didn’t have any).  Next time, I’ll definitely have to try the bread in it’s traditional manner.  Making this bread reminded me of how much practice I need with general bread-making techniques.  Oh, Chef Allen, my baking instructor, would not be happy with me.

Image

Image

 

I leave you today with this lovely picture of bacon taken by my incredibly brilliant husband.

Image

May your turkey naps leave you rested and your stuffing leave you stuffed, but not too stuffed!

